Cupcake Size!

Decorating By Meagazz Updated 31 Mar 2008 , 3:23am by Meagazz

Meagazz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Meagazz Posted 29 Mar 2008 , 11:24pm
post #1 of 8

Hi all! I am still pretty new to this decorating world, and this website is completely addictive and very helpful!!

I was just wondering if any of you could give me a hand... Every time I make a batch of cupcakes, they never seem to be the same size. I go to the gourmet cupcake bakeries in my city to check them out and my cupcakes look FAR from these ones!!

Could anyone give me help with the following:

1. What size of cupcake liner to do use? And is there a certain type you find works best?
2. What tricks do you use to make all of your cupcakes the same size, and how do you keep them from falling to one side more than the other? I've found 'eye-balling' doesn't work so well!!

Any help would be muchly appreciated!!

Thanks all!!

7 replies
Homemade-Goodies Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Homemade-Goodies Posted 29 Mar 2008 , 11:47pm
post #2 of 8

Hi Meagazz, I saw an online video where the gal used a ice cream scoop with the squeezy handle thing. This way it was the same amount in each cup. I tried it and it really helps make consistent sized cupcakes. Another tip I've read, and now do, is place a cutting board/something weighty on top of the cupcakes when they have peaked. works like a charm!

Best of luck to ya!!!

HerBoudoir Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HerBoudoir Posted 30 Mar 2008 , 12:38pm
post #3 of 8

I make "standard" size cupcakes on a regular basis. Mostly I use the Wilton cupcake liners primarily because I prefer all white liners vs. assorted pastel shades which is the "norm" of the supermarket ones. I don't think that there's any advantage of "type" of cupcake liner.