Need Idea For A Gross Cake For 9 Yo Son

Decorating By maddy1016 Updated 27 Mar 2008 , 4:44pm by MeNameJane

maddy1016 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maddy1016 Posted 21 Mar 2008 , 4:44pm
post #1 of 12

My son's bday party will be in 2 weeks. His theme will be gross/fear factor. I will be making the cake, I am no pro, but I've done a few cakes. I like homemade recipes better, but seem not to have the extra time. Box mixes I can work with, but sometimes that "box flavor" gets to me. My idea is having 1/2 sheet cake, will decorate using plastic bugs having a party on top (unless someone has an idea to make candy bugs) and maybe a rat on the side of the cake taking a bite out of the cake??(I've been searching for ideas online). Thinking what's the best way to make the rat...rice crispies or cake? I kinda know what I want but not sure what's the best method to use...bc, fondant...I am new at this...I have good ideas...but hesitant to try. Asking for a few suggestions!!!!

11 replies
becklynn Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
becklynn Posted 21 Mar 2008 , 6:50pm
post #2 of 12

There are some gross cakes in the gallery that look like a box of cat litter, complete with poop!

mezzaluna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mezzaluna Posted 21 Mar 2008 , 7:05pm
post #3 of 12

I once saw a toilet cake with yellow piping gel in it, and some poop.

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 21 Mar 2008 , 7:06pm
post #4 of 12

you want gross???

take a look at the cakes on this site!

http://www.theyrecoming.com/

BROOKSIE007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BROOKSIE007 Posted 21 Mar 2008 , 7:08pm
post #5 of 12