Need Help For Dummy Cake...

Decorating By zalma Updated 19 Mar 2008 , 10:59am by leah_s

zalma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zalma Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 4:42am
post #1 of 7

Hi all,

I have to make 3 tier dummy cake. I finally able to make the fondant. But how and what do I have to apply on the styrofoam before I lay over the fondant? I've read somewhere saying that shouldn't apply buttercream as it will change the color of the fondant. I have to make all white fondant on this dummy cake. And how do I keep it away from ants?Help.....

6 replies
Prudence Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Prudence Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 4:48am
post #2 of 7

I am not an expert! BUT I use piping gel. I even use it when I cover the board with fondat. It adheres like cement!

Here is an example. The lids and top of this cake are a dummy. The actual cake is on the bottom.
LL

WendyLaLa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
WendyLaLa Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 4:57am
post #3 of 7

At the shop I work in we use a watered down version of fondant. That can get a little expensive though. I like your piping gel idea. I bet that works just great. I'm going to pass that on.

iamlis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
iamlis Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 4:59am
post #4 of 7

If you have a spray bottle, you spray the foam lightly with water then apply fondant, I hae done that method and seen it done that way for numerous classes, GOOD LUCK!

zalma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
zalma Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 10:35am
post #5 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by iamlis

If you have a spray bottle, you spray the foam lightly with water then apply fondant, I hae done that method and seen it done that way for numerous classes, GOOD LUCK!

Hi iamlis, I like the idea of water spray. Can it hold well in a humid weather? I'm staying in S'pore and the weather is very humid and hot.

Ursula40 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ursula40 Posted 19 Mar 2008 , 10:47am
post #6 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by zalma

Hi all,