Need A Good Recipe For...

Decorating By Starkie Updated 17 Mar 2008 , 5:07am by ceshell

Starkie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Starkie Posted 16 Mar 2008 , 2:07am
post #1 of 6

... a White Chocolate Macadamia nut cake! I have made two, and I can't get it right. I am a mix baker, so I started with a DH white cake mix, replaced the water with white chocolate macadamia creamer, and then added about 1/2 c each of white chocolate and macadamia nuts (tossed in flour). The cake sank like a brick in the middle! Also, the white chocolate flavor kind of got lost, and the nuts sank to near the bottom of the cake.

So, does anyone have a good recipe I can try, or can someone give me advice on how to salvage the recipe I have now?

TIA!
<S>

5 replies
smbegg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
smbegg Posted 16 Mar 2008 , 5:22am
post #2 of 6

My suggestions would be to make the cake with the extender recipe, but use white chocolate pudding and grind up the macadamia nuts to a powder.

Havn't tried it, but that's my suggestions!

Stephanie

wgoat5 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wgoat5 Posted 16 Mar 2008 , 10:24am
post #3 of 6

Starkie have you posted this in the recipe section? icon_smile.gif You will get a fast response there icon_wink.gif ... I am sure someone can help you.....I think again that the creamer could be your culprit...some are made with corn syrup which can throw the "science" of the cake recipe off.... Also I have found that when adding nuts to a cake..like for instance my hummingbird cake I gently shake them in a little bit of flour ....which causes a suspension in the middle of the batter icon_smile.gif

HTH's

And have a wonderful day!!!

Christi icon_biggrin.gif

JanH Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JanH Posted 16 Mar 2008 , 11:43am
post #4 of 6

Cake Mix Doctor white chocolate cake recipe:
(Just omit lemon, if desired.)

http://www.cakemixdoctor.com/recipes/what_kind/cakes/lemon_lovers_white_chocolate_c.php

WASC cake white chocolate variation: