Bc Made W/o Merangue -Still Crusts?

Decorating By cakedaze Updated 23 Feb 2008 , 8:05pm by 4Gifts4Lisa

cakedaze Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedaze Posted 23 Feb 2008 , 1:32am
post #1 of 8

I am new to decorating & know only what I learn in the Wilton class - learning a lot more from CC!

Anyway, I've only made the Wilton BC, but have seen many of you use bc recipes that call for butter & shortning but no merangue (sp?). Does BC w/o merangue still crust or does it get real soft?

I need to decorate a birthday cake tonight to be served at a party tomorrow at 3pm. Just didn't know if the butter bc would hold up that long unfridgerated??

Thanks for your advice.

7 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 23 Feb 2008 , 1:35am
post #2 of 8

I didn't know what merinque powder was for until I came to this site a year ago. never used it. Here's a thread with the recipe I use ... you can also see what other CC'ers think of it. http://forum.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopic-491583-0.html

I use a crisco-only recipe and it sits on my counter for days and days ... lasts just fine.

cakedaze Posted 23 Feb 2008 , 1:46am
post #3 of 8

Thanks, Indydebi. I don't have any dream whip, but I will purchase some this weekend & give it a try!

leily Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leily Posted 23 Feb 2008 , 7:56am
post #4 of 8

I use the wilton recipe with 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening and have never used meringue powder. I did once and didn't notice a difference. I don't really understand what it is for as the BC still crust w/o it. Maybe it just takes a little longer but it does.

alanahodgson Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alanahodgson Posted 23 Feb 2008 , 2:12pm
post #5 of 8