Dream Whip Frosting Need Help!!!!!

Baking By BittysMommy Updated 6 Aug 2005 , 2:07am by PolishMommy

BittysMommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BittysMommy Posted 5 Aug 2005 , 1:25am
post #1 of 3

Well I tried the Dream Whip Frosting and it still tastes very Crisco like. Has anyone else tried this recipe? I picked it up from somewhere and thought it would be a good alternate to Buttercream Frosting. I am making my daughter's 1st birthday cake and wanted a lighter frosting.

Is there anything I can add to this batch to save it or just toss it? (I posted the recipe below)

Also can you share a good frosting recipe that is not too rich but I can still decorate with? I am pretty new to all this still so I haven't experimented w/ too many recipes.

TIA
Melanie

Dream Whip Icing

2lbs or 1 kg bag of confectioners sugar
1 pkg dream whip
1/2 cup boiling water
1/2 tsp salt
2 cups crisco shortening
2 tsp clear vanilla flavouring
1 Tbsp clear corn syrup

Whip up till fluffy. No need for refrigeration but it is fine in the fridge as well. Tastes great, not so sweet and crusts well.

2 replies
ntertayneme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PolishMommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PolishMommy Posted 6 Aug 2005 , 2:07am
post #3 of 3

As far as salvaging it, I don't think you can. I would just toss it or use it to practice piping with.

Here's the recipe I use for dream whip icing. It uses a bit less Crisco for the same amount of other ingredients of the recipe you tried. I'm not sure you will like it because it's still a Crisco based icing. I haven't tried it, but I don't see why you couldn't substitute some butter for part of the Crisco.

2 T Dream Whip powder
1/2 C Hot Water + 1-2 t.
1/2 t. salt
1.5 C shortening
2 t. Vanilla
1T flour
2 lb conf. sugar