Needs Advice On Ganache...

Decorating By duhknees Updated 5 Oct 2007 , 8:48pm by duhknees

duhknees Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
duhknees Posted 19 Sep 2007 , 8:48pm
post #1 of 9

First off hello to everyone. This is an incredible site that I have enjoyed for a lil while now, I love looking at the gallery and reading the forums. This is my first post.

I have a co-worker that is requesting an all strawberry cake. He wants strawberry cake, strawberry filling and strawberry frosting. Well I have a few ideas in mind. And was hoping for some advice.

I was *thinking* of doing everything like he asks, except tweaking it just a bit. Id like to make regular white buttercream icing for the frosting, and top it off with some pink tinted white chocolate ganache dripping down the sides. Here is where I need help. First off I have never used ganache before so Im kinda scared to try it in fear that I will mess up the entire cake. Also I have looked at several recipes but if anyone knows a really good one, please let me know. Second. I think that technique looks beautiful on a round cake, but I wanted to just use a sheet pan.

Any and all advice is welcomed, and appreciated. thumbs_up.gif

Thanks!
Denise

8 replies
alimonkey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alimonkey Posted 19 Sep 2007 , 9:03pm
post #2 of 9

Denise - first of all, welcome to CC! I'm sure you'll love it here!

Next, I would make sure with your customer that white chocolate is OK - some people REALLY don't like it, my DH included, while others just don't care for it much, like me.

For my own and my family's personal taste, dousing a perfectly good strawberry cake in white chocolate would render it nearly inedible. Your co-worker may not have strong feelings about it, but you never know. When you're changing flavors it's always a good idea to check.

If you get the go-ahead, the recipe I use for dark chocolate ganache is about 60/40 chocolate/heavy cream with a little corn syrup added for shine.