What To Do With All Of This Cake?

Decorating By ljdills Updated 15 Sep 2007 , 11:05pm by oaklanraiderdude

ljdills Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ljdills Posted 15 Sep 2007 , 8:36pm
post #1 of 7

I am new to all of this, sooooo, please help !!
I have people constantly asking me to see my album. Problem is I don't have one. I am trying to start one but it gets expensive to make cakes just to throw away. I live in a really small town, so there aren't many places to donate to and my parents are diabetic. Any ideas on how to get my album started and what to do with all of these cakes?

6 replies
have_your_cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
have_your_cake Posted 15 Sep 2007 , 8:45pm
post #2 of 7

is there a nursing home? or a hospital? Healthcare people are always hungry.

You could also do dummy cakes, wrap the foam in plastic, decorate, photograph, then scrape off the icing and do it again.

Last thing that comes to mind, make mini cakes or cupcakes. You can still show your skill, but less cake to find a home for.

Ginnycakes3 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Ginnycakes3 Posted 15 Sep 2007 , 9:18pm
post #3 of 7

Cake dummies are a good idea.
You can also donate to senior centers and churches.

turtle3264 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
turtle3264 Posted 15 Sep 2007 , 10:26pm
post #4 of 7

If I have a cake that I want to try, I usually send it to work with my husband. That usually generates orders too.

MavericksMommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MavericksMommy Posted 15 Sep 2007 , 10:39pm
post #5 of 7