Best 'starter' Fondant?

Decorating By CeeTee Updated 6 Sep 2007 , 3:41am by sweetcakes

CeeTee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CeeTee Posted 3 Sep 2007 , 6:06pm
post #1 of 17

I'm starting the Course III class this week and using fondant for the first time. I don't have the means to make my own fondant (I only have a small low power hand mixer, which means MMF is out of the question) and I've heard all the horror stories of the flavor of Wilton's.

I was going to order pre-made rolled fondant so it will be here in time for class next week when we make the bow cake, but I'm not sure which brand would be the best to get. I've heard of Pettinice, Satin Ice, and Fondx, but not sure which would be the easiest one for a total novice to work with. I don't want to use the Wilton brand because I take all my class/practice cakes to work, so it will be eaten.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks so much icon_smile.gif

16 replies
mycakesandmore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mycakesandmore Posted 3 Sep 2007 , 6:27pm
post #2 of 17

I make my marshmallow fondant without a mixer all the time.... I just melt my marshmallows w/a little water, stir until smooth, add about 1/2 bag of powdered sugar and stir with a spoon until the marshmallows are not so "runny" and then I pour the rest of the bag of powdered sugar on my countertop, make a well in the center, pour the marshmallow/pwd sugar mixture in the middle and then just start kneading it in.... yep, it's a lot of elbow grease... but it *can* be done without a mixer if you want to try it.

As far as other premade fondants... have never tried anything other than wilton's

Rycher Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Rycher Posted 3 Sep 2007 , 6:48pm
post #3 of 17