Large Sheet Cake

Decorating By missnnaction Updated 12 Jul 2005 , 9:32pm by aunt-judy

missnnaction Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missnnaction Posted 10 Jul 2005 , 11:52pm
post #1 of 8

Hey, this is my first time posting.

My question is, How do I put together two large sheet cakes 12x18 to make one...Do I just put them side by side and ice them or do I join them together somehow...and how do I transport them without them looking broken up or split down the middle.... I have four of these large cakes to make....any advice is greatly appreciated......

Missnnaction

7 replies
ntertayneme Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ntertayneme Posted 10 Jul 2005 , 11:57pm
post #2 of 8

Use a very sturdy board under them.. by board, I mean a piece of plywood .. something that won't give .. you can put them side by side, together and put your icing on them ... it shouldn't crack between the cakes if you use a really good board icon_smile.gif

missnnaction Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
missnnaction Posted 11 Jul 2005 , 12:16am
post #3 of 8

Thanks so much for your help....

alracntna Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alracntna Posted 11 Jul 2005 , 5:47pm
post #4 of 8

yes just make sure you cut the tops so they are flat and same hight as each other then put them side by side and ice them like you were icing one cake make sure you use a very sturdy cake board. wood or plastic.

MrsMissey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMissey Posted 11 Jul 2005 , 10:21pm
post #5 of 8

..also, put some icing in between the two cakes before pushing them together. This will sorta act like a glue to help hold them together!

richardskathy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
richardskathy Posted 12 Jul 2005 , 3:40am
post #6 of 8