Have I Misinterpreted Something?? Help!

Decorating By step0nmi Updated 13 Jul 2007 , 6:24pm by step0nmi

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 13 Jul 2007 , 2:44pm
post #1 of 12

OK! So I saw on a show one time that it was better to freeze you cake with the layer and the crumb coat before you put the fondant on! Well! Now I am doing that and I am seeing that while this cake is defrosting it is getting wet from the defrosting! Did I do this wrong?? How can I fix it?? I still have until 6 o'clock tonight to fix! But, I need help fast!

StephyG

11 replies
cakedreams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedreams Posted 13 Jul 2007 , 2:58pm
post #2 of 12

I am not a fondant expert, but I don't think Fondant likes any kind of moisture. So bringing cake back to room temp before you cover it may help.

VK

step0nmi Posted 13 Jul 2007 , 2:59pm
post #3 of 12

OK! Can I keep my cake like it is and put a fan on it!??? I really didn't want to waist fondant!

fooby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fooby Posted 13 Jul 2007 , 3:03pm
post #4 of 12

Keep it like it is and put a fan on it. Be patient and it will be fine. Goodluck on your cake! thumbs_up.gif

cakedreams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cakedreams Posted 13 Jul 2007 , 3:04pm
post #5 of 12

You can try, I know I had some cupcakes in frig one time with some cute fondant bugs on them and when I took them out and put them on table for display and eating the fondant started to run (colors) and they were all mushy? So I don't really have an answer 100%. I guess watch the fondant to see how it is acting. Is it falling apart, or melting. I dont think once this happens it will recover. Again, I am not an expert, I just know things from trying them out.

Good Luck

step0nmi Posted 13 Jul 2007 , 3:04pm
post #6 of 12

Thanks for the input! I DID! I put a fan on it!

fooby- I am NOT patient! That's why I was freaking out!

How long do you think it will take for it to be okay!