80Th Birthday Cake...need Help!

Decorating By CakeRN Updated 8 Jul 2007 , 4:05pm by kakekrafts

CakeRN Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeRN Posted 7 Jul 2007 , 9:57am
post #1 of 8

My father in law's 80th birthday is next week and I am planning on doing the cake. It is a milestone for him since none of his siblings ever lived to see 80. I thought of making a cake that has a man sitting under a tree and saying something like...." at 80 it's time to relax...Happy Birthday Harry"

Now I am no artist by any stretch of the imagination....so does anyone have any ideas or a sketch that they could share with me. I did a search but didn't come up with much....

Teri

7 replies
Tartacadabra Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tartacadabra Posted 7 Jul 2007 , 10:24am
post #2 of 8

Sorry I have no sketch but you could try the coloring pages, they usually have them in all sorts, also of grandfather/mothers. etc. Otherwise maybe google for an image.

Another idea would be to make the cake of an 8 and a 0, then in the 8 make two little ponds where he could be sitting or fishing. But then you have to make a figure of course and I don't know if you were planning to do this icon_smile.gif

I hope it will be a great cake and a great day!!

Good luck!

Lara

NEWTODECORATING Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NEWTODECORATING Posted 7 Jul 2007 , 11:11am
post #3 of 8

Man I came up empty on that search too. I even searched my 2 scrapbooking programs.
I just did a cake close to what your describing last week. It was a man in a hammock between two trees relaxing. I will attach the clip art in case it will help you.
LL

kakekrafts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakekrafts Posted 7 Jul 2007 , 11:14am
post #4 of 8

Here's a cake I did for my friend's 80 year old dad.Hope this gives you an idea and inspiration.
Good luck!!
LL

melyissa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melyissa Posted 7 Jul 2007 , 10:40pm
post #5 of 8