Crummy Crumb Coating

Decorating By pinchie Updated 17 Jun 2005 , 12:23pm by MrsMissey

pinchie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinchie Posted 11 Jun 2005 , 5:35am
post #1 of 10

Hi There,

I am new to this and probably going to ask a question that's been asked many times (though I did search first).

I'm making some sandal shaped cakes next weekend. I've done a few trial runs and am getting a lot of crumbs in my second coat of icing, so my crumb coating is obviously needing help!

I read here to use a tip and thin icing. Two questions:

1. What tip to use? I see Wilton has one in their catalogue called an icing tip but it looks grooved and it says it doesn't fit a coupler.

2. Should I thin my normal buttercream to crumb coat? I'm using a half shortening/half butter recipe right now.

Okay one more question, I'm considering using a cream cheese frosting instead of a buttercream (I just find it too sweet). Can I pipe with a cream cheese and color it the same way I would with BC? I was hoping not to use an icing that needs to be refrigerated but I suppose I can bring the cakes to room temperature for a few hours.

Thanks in advance. The forums are very helpful.
Pinchie

9 replies
Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 11 Jun 2005 , 11:55am
post #2 of 10

Hi pinchie...

The icer tip is what you want. It's grooved on one side but smooth on the other. It doesn't fit a coupler. To use it, just snip the tip of your bag a little smaller than the icer tip and drop it in. The bigger the bag, the better.

The frosting you crumb coat and frost with should be thinner than what you'd use for decorating.

As for the cream cheese frosting, there is a recipe for a crusting version. That might be the way to go. Search the forums for "cream and cheese and crusting"

MrsMissey Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsMissey Posted 11 Jun 2005 , 2:27pm
post #3 of 10