Teaching Cake Classes?

Business By mommabuda Updated 4 Jun 2007 , 10:17pm by MadCityDecorator

mommabuda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mommabuda Posted 3 Jun 2007 , 8:38pm
post #1 of 23

Has anyone ever thought of this or does anyone do it? I am currently a Wilton Method Instructor but have YET to teach a class due to NO interest whatsoever and the moron employees that I've been dealing with at my store... I thought about offering a course at my house, just limiting it to 2 or 3 people so I can really work with them and teaching my own lesson plan... that way I wouldn't have to follow some of Wilton's stupid lesson plans and techniques... if anyone has done this or know of anyone that does, I was just wondering what some pricing ideas were or what you think of the idea... thanks!

22 replies
SugarplumStudio Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarplumStudio Posted 3 Jun 2007 , 9:14pm
post #2 of 23

I teach on a regular basis and I love it. The majority of my classes are somewhere you'd never expect....the local library. Most libraries have a Community Events calendar and classes that cover all different interests. They receive state or county funds that pay for the materials and instruction fees.
I've taught in facilities that have full arts and crafts rooms to ones with a few folding tables in a corner. I just tailor the subject to fit the need. I've conducted classes for adults and children and it's as fun for me as it is for them. My classes are always booked full well in advance of the date and many wind up with a waiting list.
Community Colleges are also great places to pitch a class. Many have non-credit continuing education offerings. I've done whole 8 week pastry courses. This is an area where industry experience gets you very far.
I would be very leery about conducting a fee-for-service event in my home. If someone should hurt themselves, the liability would be too great.
Check with your local library. Never hurts to ask!

HTH,
Sharon