Want To Start A Cake Business, Need Advice Please

Business By x_no_one_x Updated 21 May 2005 , 6:32pm by Lisa

x_no_one_x Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
x_no_one_x Posted 21 May 2005 , 5:00am
post #1 of 3

I am new to decorating, and not particulary talented, but i really need some money, and i would like to begin selling cakes out of my home.

so my questions are:

What legal (if any things) do i need to do to begin this?

How many items should i put on my menu to begin with?

Would using splenda as a healthier option for added cost be profitable?

What about egg substitute or milk substitute?

Would cake mix cakes be acceptable, or should i only include from scratch?

HOw much should i charge?

AM i allowed to have a business name, and if so any ideas?

What type of advertising am i allowed to do?

What basic tools do i need? (please include only extremely basics, as i cant afford much.)

What other advice do you have?

And if it makes a difference, (background info.) I live in a small town in Virginia, and I am 16, so i cant drive on my own yet. The closet store witha good wilton or cake decorating section is an hour and a half away. I do have a wal-mart with a craft section, that has limited wilton supplies though. I am currently decorating with a pampered chef "easy accent" decorator (which i loathe) and i ahve a mini sports ball pan, a mini tart pan, and regular cake and muffin plans. I also want to include baklava on my menu, and hopefully learn muffin amking if i can find a good recipe. (a healthier menu??) I plan on advertising my cakes by taking some to my wednesday night dinners at my church.

2 replies
Lisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lisa Posted 21 May 2005 , 5:31am
post #2 of 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by x_no_one_x

I am new to decorating, and not particulary talented, but i really need some money, and i would like to begin selling cakes out of my home.

so my questions are:

What legal (if any things) do i need to do to begin this?