Hourly Rates

Business By CakeBakingGurl Updated 14 May 2007 , 9:58pm by 2508s42

CakeBakingGurl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakeBakingGurl Posted 5 May 2007 , 7:18pm
post #1 of 10

I was just wondering what some of ou charge for an hourly rate to decorate cakes.... I have a horrible time pricing cakes and figured if I could come up with a decent hourly rate I won't feel so bad!!

Thanks in advance!

9 replies
dl5crew Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dl5crew Posted 5 May 2007 , 7:29pm
post #2 of 10

I'm not good at prices either. I usually undercharge. Then I only do for family & really close friends.

step0nmi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
step0nmi Posted 5 May 2007 , 7:42pm
post #3 of 10

Check the thread for pricing. Most people charge per serving which you put your hourly rate in with that. Take the cost of your supplies and triple it. (I think)

doescakestoo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doescakestoo Posted 5 May 2007 , 7:49pm
post #4 of 10

I would charge myself 15 per hour at least. Otherwise you would never make enough to pay yourself. icon_lol.gificon_cry.gif

kbochick Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kbochick Posted 6 May 2007 , 12:27am
post #5 of 10

When I get faster I can think about an hourly rate. Right now, if I charged by the hour, my cakes would be way too expensive. I read on here a few times to triple your materials cost, so that's what I do, and round it to a nice number.

ladyonzlake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyonzlake Posted 6 May 2007 , 12:35am
post #6 of 10

I charge per serving for cakes.
Jacqui

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 6 May 2007 , 4:10am
post #7 of 10