Frosting Trouble...

Decorating By maddy1016 Updated 8 Apr 2007 , 1:28am by mareg

maddy1016 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maddy1016 Posted 5 Apr 2007 , 11:45pm
post #1 of 9

Help!! I am new at making cakes...how can I get a smooth frosting in the cake? Is it best to use store bought or make my own?

8 replies
marthajo1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
marthajo1 Posted 5 Apr 2007 , 11:57pm
post #2 of 9

Definately make your own! Search for Buttercream dream- everybody raves about it! Also search for melvira's method! I love it!

Dawn35 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Dawn35 Posted 5 Apr 2007 , 11:57pm
post #3 of 9

I always make my own frosting. Put the icing on as smooth as you can and let is set up a little. Lay a VIVA paper towel on the icing and rub your fingers over the paper and lift off. Should be smooth. Sometimes I take other brands of paper towels if I want a different look. If you use whipped cream heat your spatula under hot water and you'll get a nice finish.

JILBRY Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JILBRY Posted 5 Apr 2007 , 11:58pm
post #4 of 9

Store bought won't really work for decorating unless you buy Wilton's decorator icing, but it is very easy to make your own.
http://www.cakecentral.com/article10-How-To-Create-Faux-Fondant-The-Paper-Towel-Method----Viva.html
Here is the link to the Viva method.
HTH
By the Way!!
Welcome to CC : )

maddy1016 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maddy1016 Posted 8 Apr 2007 , 12:09am
post #5 of 9

Thanks for your help...I will try the buttercream dream frosting on my Easter cake....

trombonekaren Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
trombonekaren Posted 8 Apr 2007 , 12:19am
post #6 of 9