Newbie To Forum! Hi!

Decorating By laurasc Updated 3 Apr 2006 , 7:13pm by 4cardsfanz

laurasc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
laurasc Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 2:16pm
post #1 of 18

I have a question re rolled fondant. My MIL gave me a box and I've never used it before even though I have an idea how. Anyone have any tried and true tips or suggestions? Is it easier to handle when it's warmed a little or at room temperature? Can it be tinted? If so, how? I figure I'm going to start simple and go from there.

Thanks! icon_smile.gif

17 replies
ASupergirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ASupergirl Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 2:24pm
post #2 of 18

I have found with my experience that rolled fondant is easier to work with when it is room temperature- don't freeze it like I thought you could. You can warm it up and make it pliable by kneading it like dough/polymer clay. You can make it different colors. The Wilton paste colors work best for me or you could use any paste or powder color for that matter. If you use the liquid stuff, your fondant will definitely not be the same. If it starts to get a little sticky, add some powdered sugar to it just to get it back to where you started. It doesn't take a lot so be careful or it could end up really tough. Use a rolling pin to roll it out to your desired thickness- again some powdered sugar can help-don't use flour. Then you could put it over a cake that has a buttercream icing layer so you could achieve a super smooth finish. Cut out with cookie cutters, make flowers, etc. You can do a lot with it. Just don't get to discouraged if it starts cracking on you. It takes practice to get it just right! Good Luck!

mmdd Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmdd Posted 31 Mar 2006 , 2:27pm
post #3 of 18

Hi there! I just wanted to say welcome to cc! You've found a great site!!! There are many MANY people here that always help try to help you out.