Why Does My Mm Fondant Have Little Gelatin Balls In It?????

Decorating By thecupcakelady Updated 8 May 2015 , 4:26pm by malou1021

thecupcakelady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecupcakelady Posted 25 Mar 2007 , 5:26pm
post #1 of 9

Hi everyone. I'm new here and this is my first time trying to ask a question... and I'm so frustrated. I make my own MM fondant, and i either get little lumps of iscing sugar left throughout the fondant, or like yesterday when i made my daughter's b-day cake... I actually had little gelatin bits all through it! It's supposed to be smooth! I'm getting so frustrated with the fondant!!! HELP!!!!!!

Thanks,
Robin ( The Cupcake Lady ) icon_cry.gif

8 replies
NewbeeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NewbeeBaker Posted 25 Mar 2007 , 5:30pm
post #2 of 9

WELCOME TO CC!!! Not sure if I can answer it correctly, but the sugar pieces makes me think you need to sift the sugar. Have you been sifting the powdered sugar? The gelatin globs, are you melting them until they are huge and puffy looking, then stirring them until a "soupy" texture? That is all I got, but hopefully someone has experieced this before and knows why it happened=( Jen

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 25 Mar 2007 , 6:10pm
post #3 of 9

Gelatin should be left to sit or "Bloom" in cold water for at least 15 minutes and then heated in a pan of water until it has melted completely.

thecupcakelady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecupcakelady Posted 25 Mar 2007 , 9:32pm
post #4 of 9