Hey Guys I Might Be Expanding, Would You Go For It. (Long)

Business By countrysidecakes Updated 9 Feb 2007 , 2:53am by cakenutz

countrysidecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
countrysidecakes Posted 7 Feb 2007 , 3:01pm
post #1 of 8

Hey guys been a long time since I posted, but I got some news. I was at the tax place dropping off DH tax stuff, and I happened up on a place for rent. I called the # on the sign and found out that I can easily afford this place.
Would you all go for it? Particulars are below.

1. No legal lease agreement, just a 3 year rental contract. I am right now having my lawyer look it over. I am NO legal expert, but it is my understanding that with a lease you cannot move out with-in the allotted time period but with a rental contract you can move out, with a 30 day notice to the landlords.

2. Rent is cheap? I think, I dont know never rented, did not want to deal with it, so I customized my current shop, and love working there, but want to expand, BTW, rent is $175.00/month, and they pay utilities and trash pick-up. Landlord said he would give me a break if I spruced the place up, but I need that in writing, which he is willing to do.

3. No commercial kitchen, it does have a 3 comp sink, so I will have to purchase more appliances and other stuff, but NP school auction is in 2 weeks, I go to every one of these auctions and no one buys the appliances, so I can get them cheap.

4. I can do this without going into debt, I WILL NOT TAKE A LOAN, to do this, been debt free in building my current business and plan to stay that way. I will however dip into my savings, I figure it will cost around $18000.00 to get this up and running, with cash flow a place like this will need for 3 months, this will effect my savings, it will not totally clear it out but it will be close, I will however still have my emergency fund. (Dave Ramsey Junkie here).