My Rant On 1St Time Cookie Decorating

Baking By TickledPink Updated 24 Oct 2005 , 5:52pm by blittle6

TickledPink Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TickledPink Posted 24 Oct 2005 , 12:53am
post #1 of 27

So I thought I'd be clever and decorate a ton of Halloween cookies for piping practice.

Anyways, I baked a ton of witch hats, ghosts, black cats, pumpinks, etc.

I followed the recipe on the back of the Wilton cookie cutters for icing. It's basically 10x sugar, a couple tsps of milk and corn syrup.

The icing was so hard to handle, so hard to deal with, very sticky (I guess from the corn syrup) and didn't behave like other icings I've worked with.

I'm just frustrated and wondering if anyone has ever used that type of icing for cookies or what is the best kind? I need some that dries hard. I haven't tried royal icing, so I guess I will try that next.

26 replies
blittle6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blittle6 Posted 24 Oct 2005 , 1:00am
post #2 of 27

I am new to the cookie scene as well, but I used Toba's Glace icing and outline, and it turned out good. The decorating could have been better but that was me not the icing! icon_smile.gif

I haven't tried to royal yet either. How does that taste?

Berta

blittle6 Posted 24 Oct 2005 , 1:11am
post #3 of 27

Do you use Lesley's or Sugarbaker's Royal Icing? Have you tried Antonia74's from this site?

Berta

Kos Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kos Posted 24 Oct 2005 , 2:01am
post #4 of 27

I posted my school bus cookies using the royal icing (Antonia's) this afternoon. The icing was a great consistency and easy to work with but I found it to taste blah icon_confused.gif .
Also, some of the detail on the cookies is breaking off now when you bite into the cookie. I like the taste of Toba Garrett's glace icing with the confectioner's sugar, milk, and corn syrup, but I definitely have a problem with the mess as well. I think I'd like to try perfecting the glace icing for the taste.