Mini Cowboy Hat Help Please

Decorating By ccwkg Updated 2 Mar 2014 , 7:44pm by rachelnseth

ccwkg Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccwkg Posted 3 Feb 2007 , 12:45am
post #1 of 12

I hate to bug people, It seems like all I ever do is ask for help but I am in need again. I have to make 2 small cowboy hats for a cake tomorrow and I am not finding the step by step instructions my poor little brain needs. If anyone out there has this information handy and would like to share you will be my hero forever!!

Thanks!
Crystal

11 replies
Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 3 Feb 2007 , 12:48am
post #2 of 12

are they supposed to be cake themselves?

or are they just supposed to be applied decorations (which you can make out of gumpaste at this late date)?

ccwkg Posted 3 Feb 2007 , 1:03am
post #3 of 12

I have never worked with gumpaste before so that one might be out. I had kind of hoped for edible but they are pretty much a decoration so it could go either way.

Doug Posted 3 Feb 2007 , 1:22am
post #4 of 12

cheat: toy hats from store

otherwise: have to mold or carve from cake.

mold: fondant probably won't dry hard if due tomorrow (would have to dry it using lots of circulating air)...so gumpaste would be better (a very fast drying, tho' brittle at times product that works similar to fondant)

or bake cupcakes and carve, then ice.

google cowboy hats for lots of images and the basic styles. most base on oval shape w/ dent down middle of top and a brim. brim would almost have to be fondant or gumpaste if want edible or paper.

pic from galleries for inspiration: http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-photo-91028.html

ccwkg Posted 3 Feb 2007 , 1:32am
post #5 of 12

Thank you for all your help Doug! I think I am going to try carving them out of the mini ball pan. They seem to be the right size, hopefully I will be able to make them look more oval. Thanks again neighbor. BTW where is Lumberton?

Doug Posted 3 Feb 2007 , 1:34am
post #6 of 12