Flower Gumpaste Cutters....metal, Wilton, ???

Decorating By Jopalis Updated 3 Feb 2007 , 2:29am by BlakesCakes

Jopalis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jopalis Posted 2 Feb 2007 , 8:22pm
post #1 of 12

If I want to invest in a few gumpaste flower cutters does it matter if they are Wilton, PME, Tinkertech, JEM, etc.? Instructor said Wilton ones have improved... I heard the metal ones can rust and if not double top edge can kill your fingers after a few.... I am very interested in opinions. I am new to this.... what do you suggest?

11 replies
2sdae Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
2sdae Posted 2 Feb 2007 , 8:25pm
post #2 of 12

I have both PME AND JEM flower cutters and they are my favs. I perfer my mettle ones because they seem much crisper a cut and finer in dtail...mine haven't rusted after I have used them numerous times but I guess it is a preference thing. Get 1 or 2 of each brand name and see what you like best.

Jopalis Posted 2 Feb 2007 , 8:29pm
post #3 of 12

Have you heard of Tinkertech?

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 2 Feb 2007 , 8:36pm
post #4 of 12

Some of my favorite cutters are metal from the old Sugar Bouquets and from Creative Cutters in Canada, but I do have a few plastic that are very good quality. The PME Sunflower/Daisy cutter is great because it veins the petals while cutting the paste. Nic Lodge's Easy Rose is one of my greatest finds for doing roses. I do have some of Tinkertechs and they are good quality too. I really wouldn't spend my money on the Wilton cutters, they just don't give you clean cut edges.

Jopalis Posted 2 Feb 2007 , 8:46pm
post #5 of 12

If I get some cutters I think I would like to have....should I have a book to know how to use them?

ShirleyW Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ShirleyW Posted 2 Feb 2007 , 9:21pm
post #6 of 12