Would Love Some Advice

Decorating By TMM2001 Updated 11 Oct 2005 , 2:12pm by MrsMissey

TMM2001 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TMM2001 Posted 10 Oct 2005 , 2:29pm
post #1 of 15

Hi everybody...I am new to cake decorating...I just finished course I and absolutely loved it..I have always had a passion for cake decorating and decided 4 weeks ago to take the courses.....I do have one question my roses are feathering at the top and I don 't know why...my instructor told me that they were fine and she thought that they looked better that way. I don't like the way they look...Could some please tell me why they look the way they do.
LL

14 replies
charlieinMO Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
charlieinMO Posted 10 Oct 2005 , 2:32pm
post #2 of 15

I am not positive but I think if you make your icing thinner that will help. I am sure someone will have some more wonderful advice for you soon.

Kiddiekakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kiddiekakes Posted 10 Oct 2005 , 2:34pm
post #3 of 15

The feathering is caused by the icing being to thick and dry!! I personally like the look as it looks more natural.I do it this way on purpose some times!! thumbs_up.gif

melxcloud Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melxcloud Posted 10 Oct 2005 , 2:35pm
post #4 of 15

I have the same problem with my roses. This happens with roses I make from my own buttercream. When I make roses with the Wilton canned frosting they do not feather.
My course II instructor suggesting adding piping gel to my BC and that seemed to help reduce the feathering. So you may want to give that a try.
When i make roses out of royal icing I don't have this issue at all, so now i ususally make my roses with royal icing.

blittle6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blittle6 Posted 10 Oct 2005 , 2:36pm
post #5 of 15

Hi,

I think your icing does need to be thinner. There was a recent post from someone having a similar problem:

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-8799.html