Naked Wedding Cake Gift

Baking By mumstheword Updated 29 Sep 2021 , 2:52pm by SandraSmiley

mumstheword Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mumstheword Posted 28 Sep 2021 , 11:30am
post #1 of 8

Hello

Looking for some assistance from the wise!

I'm a hobby baker - nothing more! After a lot of years of making lots of kids birthday cakes, which i have loved decorating, i've been asked to make a 3 tier wedding cake. Argh. I reminded them i am far from professional but they insisted. So I am making the cake for their wedding present.

The've asked for a 3 tier naked cake like this https://www.pinterest.co.uk/pin/3096293485650846/  I am doing my best to prepare ahead of the actual bake and decorate.  I realise i will need dowels and cake boards to stack the cake and a cake drum. I am also hunting for the right decorations. 

I had planned a 12" chocolate madeira, an 8" vanilal madeira and 5" lemon madeira cake .. but do you think the 12" would be best swapped with a 10"?  Or any other size combinations!?

Thanks so much for any advice!

A

7 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 28 Sep 2021 , 12:31pm
post #2 of 8

size usually depends on the amount of servings you need -- another factor is whether they will freeze the top tier for the first anniversary -- in that case it would be that the amount of servings would be handled by the bottom two tiers --

now this can be controlled by the cake server but often when there's more than one flavor, people want to try them all -- another factor to consider is, who will cut the cake -- if aunt louise's twin fourteen yr olds serve the cake the portion size might be more generous than if the caterer did it --

so answer some of those questions and we're in business -- that style should be a breeze for you -- is this your first tier cake?