Product Freshness, Waste And Planning

Business By Shaywest Updated 8 Jun 2021 , 11:23pm by SandraSmiley

Shaywest Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shaywest Posted 4 Jun 2021 , 1:56am
post #1 of 12

SO, I opened a small, specialty bakery in the middle of the pandemic.  Crazy I know!  We ONLY sell ALL KETO and ALL Gluten Free baked goods.  In general, we are doing well.  When we first opened, we could not bake fast enough to keep up with demand.  Now, it is summer and things are slow.  Im still learning and we provide detailed nutritional labels for everything we make so it takes me a minute to get new products from my head out to sell :)  Usually a week or more.  Anyway, I am really struggling with knowing how much to make etc.  I have done a decent job so far managing waste especially since our products have a longer than normal shelf life.  I guess I am wondering what other bakeries do?  Is everything tossed at the end of the day and they start from scratch?  Are cakes made and frozen so they can be pulled and decorated for last minute request?  Is there an upcharge for that?  Currently, I make all my cakes fresh and only take orders that I manage to do that with.  However, I get a good bit of "I need a cake tomorrow" phone calls!  I have made a few cakes and kept in the case and then of course, those did not sell!  It is maddening!  I also on a few occasions have been asked "when was this made or is this fresh?"  Again, we have a longer shelf life and only freeze a few cupcakes here and there to have on hand if we get caught off guard and need more in a hurry!  Again, just really curious what other bakeries do?  What is considered standard with regards to waste etc. etc. Any insight would be helpful.