Very Moist Or Under Baked?

Baking By Carabella Updated 16 Oct 2020 , 4:54pm by SandraSmiley

Carabella Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Carabella Posted 13 Oct 2020 , 4:19pm
post #1 of 15

Hi everyone, I’m just wondering if anyone can give me some advice  

I’ve been making cakes for my friends and family for many years now, not to sell, they just give me the ingredients or get me to buy them. This has been stumping me through out the years! Sometimes when I make mud cake, it tests clean but in the middle it can end being a little gooey in the middle. I baked a marble mud today. 9inch and it’s quite large. I had 2. They both cooked for a little under 2 hours. One was perfect and the other, a little gooey just in the middle. See it’s a very butter rich and moist cake so I’m not sure if it’s just extra shiny and moist or it’s not cooked! I cut out the little gooey part and filled it with an off cut. All these years when this happens, I’ve been eating it and every one has been fine but I’m covering this one with fondant to give to my sister to take to a party in a few days. Will it be safe to eat? It cooked at 150degrees Celsius for just under 2 hours. I did the skewer test and it came out with one or two crumbs, I also checked with a flat blades knife and it was clean and it had an internal temp of 98 degrees Celsius. If everything is indicating that it’s cooked, why the little gooey part?! Thank you so very much for your help. ( also, I stacked the 2 layers with ganache and also coated it in ganache ready for the fondant, it is very sturdy and stable ) 

14 replies
SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 13 Oct 2020 , 4:43pm
post #2 of 15