How Long Can I Keep A Strawberry Cream Cake Stored For After Assembling?

Baking By CristyCE Updated 17 Feb 2020 , 8:49pm by kakeladi

CristyCE Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CristyCE Posted 17 Feb 2020 , 4:25pm
post #1 of 3

Hello! This is my first time posting on this forum. I want to make a strawberry cream cake as a belated birthday gift for two of my coworkers, but want to know how long the cake would be good for after assembling. The recipe I use says to serve after assembling, then "Cake can be refrigerated for up to 4 hours." Does that mean after 4 hours, I shouldn't refrigerate the cake? Or that I should have the entire cake consumed within 4 hours of assembly? Since it has fresh whipped cream and strawberries on it, I assumed I shouldn't just keep it at room temperature for a prolonged period of time.

If it helps, I can describe the cake structure. It is a chiffon-style cake cut into three layers. Each cake layer has a ring of fresh cut strawberry halves on the outer circle, with a strawberry filling on the inside. It has a layer of fresh whipped cream spread on top before the next layer cake.

I'm still pretty new to everything with cakes, so I'm sorry if this is a ridiculous question. I'm hoping it would be okay to bake and assemble the cake tonight, and keep it until Thursday (a bit less than 3 days).

2 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 17 Feb 2020 , 8:45pm
post #2 of 3