Need Help With Stand Up Mini-Bear Cake For Super Bowl!!

Decorating By 29apr00 Updated 4 Feb 2007 , 9:12pm by Teekakes

29apr00 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
29apr00 Posted 30 Jan 2007 , 3:43pm
post #1 of 9

I'm a beginner at decorating cakes, only done the 3 in Wilton Class #1 so far. icon_redface.gif

I've bought the mini-stand up bear pan, and want to make a Chicago Bear cake for the Superbowl this weekend. I've read so many topics on this pan that i have totally confused myself!! I don't know if i'm supposed to use 1 or 2 boxes, add pudding or sour cream icon_confused.gif or even use the heating core!!?!?!

Then once i get it baked, i'm not sure how to go about putting the "C" on the chest. I just want to decorate the bear with a navy shirt and the "C" on it, but i hav no idea how to start this!!

HELP!

Jennifer

8 replies
cindy6250 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cindy6250 Posted 30 Jan 2007 , 4:31pm
post #2 of 9

Did you buy the big bear or the mini bear?

The mini bear doesn't have a heating core and doesn't take much batter. It is the size of a couple of muffins.
The large one takes a little more than one cake mix. I don't use the heating core in the large pan either, just bake it longer and it works fine.

I would use the extender, it is in the recipe section.

Most people decorate the bear with the 16 or 18 star tip. You can put a thin layer of icing on the
bear and trace with a toothpick to make a shirt and the "C" and then fill it in with the stars...Does this make sense?

Hope it helps.
Cindy

imartsy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
imartsy Posted 30 Jan 2007 , 4:33pm
post #3 of 9

what a cute idea! Why didn't I think of that? Hmmm maybe I'll try to do that too!!