Semi-Naked Wedding Cake Questions

Baking By lblesser Updated 11 Sep 2019 , 12:57pm by SandraSmiley

lblesser Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lblesser Posted 9 Sep 2019 , 5:31pm
post #1 of 9

Hi!

I'm new to wedding cakes and have one coming up for my friend. It's a semi naked almond wedding cake for 100 people plus the topper. It's 4 tier so 6,9,12 =100 people + 4 inch topper.

I have a few questions-

I'm using raspberry filling, I don't want it to bleed/seep through the layers as I've had that happen before. What do you recommend? I've heard of putting a thin layer of buttercream first and then on the bottom of the layer that is going on top so it's sandwiched between buttercream.

I've never used dowels before. I got bubble straws. How many would you recommended for each tier and any tips?

Should I assemble at my location it's a 20 minute drive or there?

I have a decent recipe for white cake that I add almond extract to but if you have any recommendations I would greatly appreciate that.

I don't have a lot of experience but my friend asked me to make it for her so I told her I would. I just don't want to mess it up so if you have any tips/recommendations please feel free to comment. Thanks so much!

8 replies
Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 9 Sep 2019 , 5:56pm
post #2 of 9

You definitely want to use a ring/dam of thick buttercream and then add your raspberry filling in the middle of the ring/dam.  I would actually be tempted to do two rings of buttercream to really lock in the filling from seeping out.  I feel like doing a layer of buttercream, then a layer of filling, then a layer of buttercream would cause slippage issues for your layers.