Bakels Red Velvet Premix, Vegetarian Or Not?

Baking By Safandi Updated 13 Jul 2019 , 4:25pm by kakeladi

Safandi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Safandi Posted 13 Jul 2019 , 9:23am
post #1 of 4

So I'm baking a wedding cake for some fairly strict vegetarians. I was planning on using the bakels premix as I am making a huge amount of cake, and it would just streamline things to use a premix. Problem is I can't find out if this mix is vegetarian, mainly because the listed emulsifiers come up as having both plant and animal origins, but there's no distinction on the label whether it is the plant or animal based version. I can't in good conscience give vegetarians animal fats. Does anybody here know whether this mix is veggie friendly? Thank you.

3 replies
AAtKT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AAtKT Posted 13 Jul 2019 , 12:45pm
post #2 of 4

Did you contact the manufacturer?  They should be able to tell you...

I have never used this product, so I do not know...

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 13 Jul 2019 , 2:28pm
post #3 of 4

I would avoid using it — for a special palate you need to be rock solid on the ingredients of course — and if the label doesn’t specify then maybe sometimes they use both — which is why you charge more for the aggravation and special ingredient factors— you earn it!

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 13 Jul 2019 , 4:25pm
post #4 of 4

Agree with the others   Bet both are used

Quote by @%username% on %date%