I'm Fondant Deficient

Decorating By fayespastries Updated 6 Jul 2019 , 4:24am by MBalaska

fayespastries Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fayespastries Posted 4 Jul 2019 , 4:17pm
post #1 of 9

I'm looking to really get into making cakes. I have several years of professional experience in the culinary field and I've gone to culinary school. I feel really comfortable with cookies and cupcakes. I'm even comfortable with cupcake toppers made from fondant. However, cakes have always been something that's troubled me. I'm on my journey of being a self-taught cake decorator, which has been super overwhelming. I feel comfortable-ish with buttercream, but fondant is a whole other story. I ALWAYS have issues with fondant when it comes to cakes. I've been told to try homemade fondant. I've tried MMF and the Michele Foster fondant recipe. While both taste great and were easy to make, I've had several issues with application and shelf life. It always seems to melt, be way too soft and sweat like crazy. I know it's best for cost and taste, however I've always had issues when using homemade fondant. Does anyone have a guaranteed homemade recipe that won't cause the issues listed above? I'm willing to give it another chance. I'm also researching store-bought fondant now to see what's my best option. If you lean towards store-bought fondant, what would you recommend? I feel like my biggest issue with fondant is covering the cake. I think I have trouble with that simply because I haven't found THE fondant that works best for me. It's really frustrating as I've been trying to get into cakes on and off for years. Any advice when it comes to fondant? Survival tips 101? 

Another thing I always wonder is the cake schedule. How far out do you bake, ice and decorate your cakes? Do you apply fondant the day of or do you do it prior to and store it? Any details would be appreciated!

Thanks.

8 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 4 Jul 2019 , 4:57pm