Lemon Wasc Input

Baking By Freckles0829 Updated 19 Oct 2019 , 6:57pm by kakeladi

Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 28 May 2019 , 12:45pm
post #1 of 43

Since I am just a hobby baker I don't have a large expanse of flavors that I offer.  I want to change that and start expanding a bit.  I have an acquaintance who gets a lot of cakes from me and her favorite flavor is lemon blueberry with cream cheese frosting.  So for her next order that is the flavor I want to do but I want to get some opinions on how I plan to add to the WASC recipe, which I use all the time and love, to make it lemon.

So I was going to start with a white cake mix from DH instead of lemon because I don't want that yellow color.  So I was considering adding a lemon pudding mix, lemon zest and lemon extract to the white cake mix.  Do you think that would add enough lemon punch?

And because I like to over think things, since I have a few cakes coming up the next few weekends I wanted to try and get a good amount of baking done this weekend just to get ahead.  I have never frozen a cake with fruit in it, and even though my gut is telling me it will be fine, would there be any issue freezing a cake with blueberries baked into it?  Just wasn't sure if the thawing process would randomly do something strange to the berries.

42 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 28 May 2019 , 12:55pm
post #2 of 43

You MUST call me when your flavor creation is done so I can enjoy it!!   Yes it will fz just fine :)    I think I would add up to 1/2 cup lemon juice as part of the water in the recipe    Now run into the kitchen & start baking LOL! 

ypierce82 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ypierce82 Posted 28 May 2019 , 12:59pm
post #3 of 43