How Do You Manage And Keep Track Of All Your Orders?

Business By tanu1231 Updated 14 May 2019 , 5:27pm by inthekitchen2

tanu1231 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tanu1231 Posted 13 May 2019 , 6:43pm
post #1 of 6

Hello cake fam!

I've been running a home-based cake business for 10 years now. In the past 2 years, it's become very busy and i'm finding it very difficult to keep track of what orders I have. I get messages from facebook, instagram, phone calls, email, texts, whatsapp and I find myself forgetting about certain orders very last minute. This past weekend, I completely forgot to make a cake and I had 2 hours to make one in time. Thankfully I did it, but I don't want this to happen again. 

I wanted to know if theres a special program or calendar you use to organize and clearly see what orders you have. I currently use the appointment feature in the facebook business page app but Im not really happy with it. Any tips would be appreciated.

Thank you!

Tanya

5 replies
mahtc2016 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mahtc2016 Posted 13 May 2019 , 10:39pm
post #2 of 6

X-large dry erase board. I only take orders by phone (landline) or at the bakery. I write the order in my book then the dry erase board. Check every day. I don't know how you all do it on all the different apps and media sites . I'd pull my hair out.

KitchenSix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KitchenSix Posted 14 May 2019 , 2:07am
post #3 of 6

Wow, that is a lot going on! I would maybe cut back on all the ways you take orders— I agree with the other comment— I’d pull my hair out!

I also use a dry erase board, the notes app on my phone, and sometimes even sticky notes.  The board helps the most.

thecanadian160 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecanadian160 Posted 14 May 2019 , 4:36am
post #4 of 6