How To Keep Fiber Off Of Your Fondant

Decorating By PmelDono Updated 6 Mar 2019 , 4:20pm by SandraSmiley

PmelDono Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PmelDono Posted 4 Mar 2019 , 9:01am
post #1 of 12

Dear Bakers,

I am just a beginner at Cake Baking and Decorating. I recently made cake pops and a large cake for my son's birthday. He loved them. But I struggle to keep fibers (from clothes and other fabrics) from getting on fondant. No amount of wiping and cleaning seem to work. I'd always find bits and pieces of fibers on my white fondant. I had to painstakingly pick them off with a knife which ruins the smoothness of the fondant. How do I avoid this in the future? 

11 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 4 Mar 2019 , 5:36pm
post #2 of 12

I’d forgotten all about that   I remember wearing a new pair of jeans to my introduction lesson of fondant and getting blue fondant:)   The teacher mentioned about wearing “fluffy “sweaters” etc

KitchenSix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KitchenSix Posted 4 Mar 2019 , 5:49pm
post #3 of 12

I have just been thinking about this today, after making a bow that had some fibers!

A few things to do, which I totally didn’t when I made the bow, is to change clothes into something that has been worn yet.  Athletic wear is great! It tends to be smooth and have less fibers.  Wipe down everything, and then dry it with a paper towel, and don’t use rags to dry your hands off, but a paper towel instead, as well.

Otherwise, I’m also lost for a solution, and am wondering if it’s just part of it.

KitchenSix Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KitchenSix Posted 4 Mar 2019 , 5:50pm
post #4 of 12

Hasn’t been worn.*

inthekitchen2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
inthekitchen2 Posted 4 Mar 2019 , 6:53pm
post #5 of 12

I found drying my hands on towels to be the culprit. I ONLY dry my hands with paper towels when working with fondant. 

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile