Gumpaste / Fondant Roses

Decorating By Nanas.sweet.treats Updated 1 Mar 2019 , 6:22am by Nanas.sweet.treats

Nanas.sweet.treats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nanas.sweet.treats Posted 18 Feb 2019 , 2:15pm
post #1 of 31

Gumpaste / Fondant RosesGumpaste / Fondant RosesGumpaste / Fondant RosesI had a request for a 50th wedding anniversary cake that I'm doing this upcoming weekend. The cakes they requested had fondant / sugar paste roses. I've started on the roses early case I run into problems this is my first time actually doing roses with fondant plus Tylos powder.  I let my petals dry overnight. However they're not as flexible, but I'll find whenever I attach the Rose petals before drying out they tend to droop and tear. I'm wondering is this due to the water that I'm using to glue the Roses? Would it be better to use  a light coat  of melted white candy melts?

30 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 18 Feb 2019 , 4:45pm
post #2 of 31

I would want to use gum paste only for roses -- but I can see me rigging something up with a lot of corn starch too -- for your project  i'd add more tylose before I added chocolate -- a lot of fondanty mixtures like this are better the next day -- and I often dry mine upside down --

-K8memphis Posted 18 Feb 2019 , 4:47pm
post #3 of 31

well I dry them upside down when I use wires inside instead of toothpicks and wrap the wire over/around the side of a cake pan that's been set on the turntable so there's room for them to dangle down -- but you need a nice stiff product too

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 18 Feb 2019 , 5:14pm
post #4 of 31