Cherry Flavour

Baking By CassiaM Updated 17 Feb 2019 , 3:44am by SandraSmiley

CassiaM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CassiaM Posted 13 Feb 2019 , 9:45pm
post #1 of 24

Hello all,

I've been put in charge of making my sister's surprise 40th birthday cake. I am just a hobbyist but I like my cakes to look and taste professional. My other sister knows the birthday girl's tastes better than I do and she wants to do something cherry flavoured. I think I'll be making a 2 tier cake (one layer will be under fondant, the other one will be under gold 'sequins'), and I've been asked to make one of the cakes chocolate, and one white. So to get that cherry flavour in the cake, would flavouring the buttercream be the best way? How should I go about doing that? I also suggested the possibility of doing cherry flavoured ganache under the fondant, I'm not sure how I would go about doing that or if it would taste any better, it was just something that came to mind (because chocolate/cherry is so darn delicious).

Originally she wanted Black Forest, but still wants it to be put under fondant and I explained that the whipped cream and real cherries wouldn't work there. 

Anyone have ideas for what I could do to add a cherry flavour to this cake?

Thanks!

23 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 13 Feb 2019 , 9:56pm
post #2 of 24

Use cherry pie filling for the filling   You coding add some intol the batter also    There’s flavoring that you can get if you want more or to flavor the fondant 

CassiaM Posted 13 Feb 2019 , 10:20pm
post #3 of 24

Would I just use cherry pie filling by itself in between the layers or mixed in with Bc? I would worry about the layers sliding around I think! Would the flavouring you speak of just be a cherry extract?

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 13 Feb 2019 , 11:27pm
post #4 of 24