Newbie Stacking Question

Decorating By CreativeLee Updated 11 Feb 2019 , 8:48pm by kakeladi

CreativeLee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CreativeLee Posted 10 Feb 2019 , 3:30am
post #1 of 5

Hello,

I'm a newbie.  I purchased this pan set.  The pans are 4, 6 and 8 inches wide and use only one box of cake mix.  This is the first cake I will ever had made so that is why I'm starting with a cake mix.  In time, I will switch to making cakes from scratch.  

My questions are do I need to put cake boards (I think that is what they are called, maybe cake rounds is the name) in between each layer and do I need to put support sticks (? columns) inside the bottom layers?  Is the correct sizing for the cake boards the same size as the top layers, but 2 to 4 inches bigger for the bottom layer?  

Thank you in advance for any and all help!

Newbie Stacking Question

4 replies
SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 10 Feb 2019 , 4:42am
post #2 of 5

First of all, you need to have at least two layers for each tier, so buy two cake mixes and make two sets of each size.

Yes, you need to dowel you tiers so they support the one(s) above and you do need to put a cake board under each tier.  For the four and six inch tiers, use a four and six inch cake board, for the eight inch tier, you should have at least 12 inches and it should be strong enough to support the whole cake.  For support, most of us are now using sturdy straws because the do a good job and are easy to cut with scissors.

Here is a great tutorial by Edna De la Cruz of Design Me A Cake on how to dowel and stack a tiered cake.  There are many tutorials on YouTube.  Good luck!

Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 11 Feb 2019 , 1:33pm
post #3 of 5

No way will one box mix be enough to make all of those tiers.  Each tier should be at least 2 layers so multiple box mixes will be needed.