Swiss Meringue Buttercream.. Help

Decorating By peach123 Updated 13 Jan 2019 , 5:27pm by yortma

peach123 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
peach123 Posted 11 Jan 2019 , 10:52pm
post #1 of 4

I have made multiple attempts to make Swiss meringue buttercream. I know you have to heat the egg whites and sugar to at least a 140 while stirring the mixture over lightly simmering heat. I know you then have to put it in a stand mixer with a whisk attachment and whip until stiff peaks form. I know you have to add the butter while it's still slightly cooler than room temperature one tablespoon at a time, pausing between additions to make sure it is all incooperated. I have done this 3 times and failed all 3 times. I don't know what I'm doing wrong and I really want to get this right because I really don't like American butter cream. Please help. Is there a secret that I missing?? I tried different recipies, read about it, and watched so many Youtube videos. I am an intermediate baker with years of experience so this is REALLY frustrating. I'll take all the help I can get!

3 replies
momg9 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
momg9 Posted 12 Jan 2019 , 1:57am
post #2 of 4

I don’t make Swiss Meringue very often, but I did see a few things that I do differently. I heat the sugar and eggs to 165 degrees and don’t wait for the butter to blend before adding more. Other than that I make it the same as you. How does yours turn out?

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 12 Jan 2019 , 2:03am
post #3 of 4