How Do You Guys Charge For Various Different Flavors? Or Do You Not Charge At All?

Baking By Zbowles Updated 12 Nov 2018 , 5:11pm by inthekitchen2

Zbowles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Zbowles Posted 11 Nov 2018 , 10:14pm
post #1 of 4

I'm just starting out, I would say I've been at this baking business for roughly 10months - 1 year. So my prices have risen over the months as my work has gotten better, but I have encountered a new problem. Well, not necessarily a problem so much as...I'm just wondering if I'm undercharging or not? 

I'll explain! 

Recently I got an order for a two-tier cake (6inch on top of an 8inch) and a dozen cupcakes! A relatively easy order to accomplish, except that he wants a lot of different flavors. The cakes and the cupcakes will be vanilla, but for the cupcakes, he wants strawberry buttercream and in the cakes, he wants coconut and pineapple filling. 

So I guess what I'm asking is...would you guys charge extra for the different fillings and buttercreams this order request? Essentially besides that cakes, I will have to also make...

1. Buttercream for crumb coats 
  2. Strawberry buttercream for cupcakes 
  3. Coconut filling for the cake 
  4. Pineapple filling for the cake 

Thanks in advance! 

3 replies
rychevamp Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rychevamp Posted 11 Nov 2018 , 11:48pm
post #2 of 4

I usually will offer two flavor choices per cake. One tier one flavor, one the other without charging extra. 

If they insisted on a different flavor for say a third tier, I charged extra.  I don't allow that on a small 4-inch tier because it's too hard to make a 1/2 cup of filling for just that. That tier would have to be one of the other flavors they have already chosen. The only time I would let that slide is if I was already making that flavor for another cake.