Doctoring Spice Cake Box Mix

Baking By barbnyc718 Updated 14 Oct 2018 , 2:20pm by -K8memphis

barbnyc718 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
barbnyc718 Posted 12 Oct 2018 , 12:58pm
post #1 of 6

Hello, all! Newbie here and also an amateur baker.

My office is throwing a Thanksgiving party next month and I’m deciding to bring cupcakes. I saw the turkey cupcakes from the designers of “Hello, cupcake” and I really want to create that. 

The cupcake is a spice cake with, I believe, chocolate frosting. Firstly, I’m not sure if those two flavors go together. I’ve researched online and I’ve read they do go together? 

So, for the spice cake, I purchased BC spice cake mix. On the box, it states it has the pudding mix in it. I wanna doctor the mix so that it doesn’t taste like it came from the box and I really wanna blow the party away with spectacular tasting and great looking cupcakes! 

I was thinking of using whole milk instead of the water and using melted butter in place of the vegetable oil. I’ve never worked with doctoring a box mix before; I’ve only made cake by following the cake box (that’s how amateur I am). 

Any help or advice from those much experienced bakers out there? I know it’s too early to talk about Thanksgiving, but I’m starting to prepare by slowly purchasing the food items to make the turkeys on top of the cupcakes. 

Thank you so much! Looking forward to hearing the responses!

5 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 12 Oct 2018 , 1:52pm
post #2 of 6