Stacked Cakes With A Liquid Center

Baking By YBaker0212 Updated 17 Sep 2018 , 5:41pm by -K8memphis

YBaker0212 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
YBaker0212 Posted 17 Sep 2018 , 8:23am
post #1 of 7

Hi Everyone,

I am new to cake central so apologise if this post is not allowed.

I have been asked to make a 2 tier wedding cake with a molten chocolate center for both cakes - tier sizes are 14" and 10". The cakes will be covered in chocolate ganache and decorated with chocolates. Groom doesn't like buttercream, fondant or any other type of filling. I've only ever made single serving molten center cakes, which are served immediately so the center is still warm. I'm not sure if a large stacked cake can cope with the weight of a molten center. Also, how do I make the liquid center remain liquid if it is cold? 

Thanks

Yvette

6 replies
AAtKT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AAtKT Posted 17 Sep 2018 , 9:48am
post #2 of 7

In all of the recipes I have ever seen for the molten chocolate cakes... they have been individual and served warm as well...

I would imagine a large one wouldn't be easy to handle either, since if it cracks, it would leak...

I would also imagine if it cooled or was chilled, that molten center wouldn't be molten anymore... the little one's centers firm up when they are cooled off / chilled...

Sometimes we just have to tell our customers that it isn't in the realm of possibility...

louglou Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
louglou Posted 17 Sep 2018 , 12:29pm
post #3 of 7

I don’t think this will work. Molten middle cakes have to be small, individual servings or they will collapse. And they have to be served freshly baked and warm or else the middle sets. 

Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 17 Sep 2018 , 12:37pm
post #4 of 7