Baking For Real....

Baking By BakedbyMommy Updated 14 Sep 2018 , 5:13am by bubs1stbirthday

BakedbyMommy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BakedbyMommy Posted 13 Sep 2018 , 1:45am
post #1 of 7

Hey everyone. I've been baking for a couple of years, but never professionally. I have since learned so much by practicing. I now want to take the next step and learn more techniques and practicing more...maybe start a business. I live in Texas, so under the Cottage Foods Law, I can bake and sell my goods from home as long as it doesn't have to be refrigerated. 

I just want to know from you guys the following:

What size cake pans do I need? I have 9" round and some sheet pans.

I prefer BC but wondering...do I buy or make fondant?

Wasc cakes all the time? can they be used for cupcakes? 

is it more cost effective to bake from scratch vs wasc?

Starting prices? base prices? etc.

How do you practice? I want to bake like 3 cakes but what do I do with 3 cakes lol.

I am buying all supplies from amazon and walmart, so I know I have been paying more than wholesale. However, since I am not selling anything, yet, I think it may be the best option for now. I currently have 9" round pans, sheet pans, a KA mixer, piping bags...pretty much the basics. 

And of course, any advice is appreciated. Thank you!

6 replies
Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 13 Sep 2018 , 12:57pm
post #2 of 7

I definitely don't have all the answers but here is what I would recommend for some of your questions...

What size cake pans - I would probably add 8" and 6" and maybe a 10" to your collection (I have two of each size).  I use my 8" and 6" quite a bit.  But I wouldn't go crazy buying large pans yet unless you start getting orders for large cakes.  Nowadays with Amazon one can easily order pans and have them on their door step in a day or two.