Carving Cake - Choosing A Recipe?

Decorating By LynneCakes Updated 18 Jul 2018 , 1:35am by LynneCakes

LynneCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LynneCakes Posted 15 Jul 2018 , 11:44pm
post #1 of 14

I'll be making a train cake for my home town's centennial baking competition in 2 weeks.  Originally I thought about doing a 2D/3D combo but decided on this instead. It's a tutorial by Paul Bradford.  He uses a very dense (and THICK) 10" cake and chocolate ganache only for filling and covering.  I wanted to make a carrot cake with cream cheese Swiss meringue buttercream as a filling and a white chocolate Swiss meringue buttercream as outside coating.  Would this be too unstable?  I've never done a carved cake before!

Carving Cake - Choosing A Recipe?

13 replies
LynneCakes Posted 15 Jul 2018 , 11:56pm
post #2 of 14

Also, any suggestions for adding "smoke"?  I was thinking cotton candy but not sure how I would get a tallish stack of it that will stay put.

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 16 Jul 2018 , 2:43am
post #3 of 14

I would definitely cover the carved cake with ganache for the strength and stability.  Not all smoke goes straight up.  In fact, if you used cotton candy and had it leaning back toward the engine, it would give the impression of forward motion.  You could also use dry ice for smoke.

me_me1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
me_me1 Posted 16 Jul 2018 , 5:04am
post #4 of 14

I don't know what your carrot cake cuts like but when carving I usually prefer to use either my choc or vanilla recipes. My carrot cake has too many nuts and teensy bits of carrot in it to carve nicely. I mean, yeah, you could smooth it all out with your buttercream but I find it easier to work with a smoother texture to begin with.

I like the cotton candy smoke idea. You could have a little florist wire running through the centre for stability perhaps?

:)

LynneCakes Posted 16 Jul 2018 , 10:59am
post #5 of 14