Individual Cake Freezing ?

Baking By doodledo Updated 9 Jul 2018 , 7:42am by -K8memphis

doodledo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
doodledo Posted 6 Jul 2018 , 2:00pm
post #1 of 11

I need to make 30 individual cakes. I am going to cut them from a large sheet pan. I always freeze my cakes days before decorating. Would I cut them out then freeze or freeze the sheet and cut out right before decorating?

10 replies
Freckles0829 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Freckles0829 Posted 6 Jul 2018 , 2:18pm
post #2 of 11

I would cut out and then freeze...a bit of a time saver when you are finally ready to decorate.  Plus smaller cakes defrost quicker than one large one.

doodledo Posted 6 Jul 2018 , 3:26pm
post #3 of 11

Thanks for the quick reply. I just wasnt sure how to proceed.

bubs1stbirthday Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bubs1stbirthday Posted 7 Jul 2018 , 12:17am
post #4 of 11

Take this with a grain of salt as I have never done it before but I would bake, partially freeze, torte, fill then freeze fully and cut prior to decorating while they are still partially frozen for nice clean lines and minimal crumbs.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 8 Jul 2018 , 5:09pm
post #5 of 11

bubs -- that's what I do with all my cakes -- I torte, fill and freeze un-iced -- get all the messy mess out of the way -- then just whip out, final ice, decorate and store in fridge till delivery -- crumb coating never interested me -- why go 'round twice when once will do blush

but I have all my stuff tested already -- and it goes in & out of the freezer/fridge fine

-K8memphis Posted 8 Jul 2018 , 5:11pm
post #6 of 11

although I do trim the edges after filling & layering up the layers for a tier -- so the icing goes on the same thickness all the way around --

jchuck Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jchuck Posted 8 Jul 2018 , 10:51pm
post #7 of 11