Sorry, Grandma. My Cakes Ain't Made With Love. (A Rant)

Lounge By meganmbruns Updated 27 Jun 2018 , 9:02pm by kcp2264

meganmbruns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
meganmbruns Posted 22 Jun 2018 , 3:53pm
post #1 of 8

I'm a casual baker. I do this for fun, as a hobby, for friends and family parties. But my cakes ain't made with LOVE. They are made with lots and lots of frustration and a bit of screaming. That isn't to say, that I don't like making cakes. I love it! I like to challenge myself with different techniques. Sometimes it turns out great, sometimes, it is disastrous.

This week was a smash cake for a 1 year old's birthday party. My first attempt at fondant figures: an elephant shaped cake topper. The first one was PERFECT! But ended up cracking so badly, it was unrepairable. I had to run out and get more fondant. Attempt two. PERFECT! Put them in the oven with the light on to dry (no heat) for 24 hours. They were looking great! Went to bake my cakes...forgot the little sugar pachyderms were in there. Baked elephants.

Now, I am on attempt 3: let's all cross our fingers!

Anyone else make cakes with angry love?

Sorry, Grandma. My Cakes Ain't Made With Love. (A Rant) 

7 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 22 Jun 2018 , 5:40pm
post #2 of 8

Aaahhhh you aren't the only one who has dried something in the oven only to forget they were in there and baked them! :)   It's happened to many of us.

Yes, many times cakes are made in 'angry love' .

whatthedogate Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
whatthedogate Posted 22 Jun 2018 , 10:49pm
post #3 of 8

Yup!  One time I put a pound of butter in the oven to "come to room temperature" and then forgot all about it until I went to preheat my oven.  Oy!  The smoke.  Sorry about your elephants.  Third times a charm...

GIGGLEBOX2014 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GIGGLEBOX2014 Posted 26 Jun 2018 , 7:41am
post #4 of 8