Crisco Vs High Ratio Vs...store Brand...?

Decorating By saadi Updated 25 Apr 2018 , 1:43am by SandraSmiley

saadi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
saadi Posted 23 Apr 2018 , 10:27pm
post #1 of 4

Hi all! Im new to cake making. I just learned that crisco shouldnt be used for making frosting. People say it leaves a filmy greasy feel in the mouth...? and also it contains trans fat which is -1 I have used 50/50 of butter and crisco in one of my frostings and i actually liked it...didnt notice anything weird or nasty lol neither did my husband (mind you im not a pro i just make it for my family right now...anyway...but 0 trans fat sounds good to me...and ive looked at the prices of high ratio shortening and im thinking...its more for those who bake often/pros? ( and bc its sold in higher quantity than regular shortening and i dont think i need that much) I do want to continue making cakes and i actually dont really like the taste of buttercream (atleast mine doesnt taste all that great...). So my question is...should i stick to crisco? Should i switch to a 0 trans fat brand? Or should i invest in high ratio? 

Thanks in advance!

3 replies
AAtKT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AAtKT Posted 24 Apr 2018 , 10:19am
post #2 of 4

Crisco doesn't have any trans fats anymore, or well so little that they still get away with putting zero on their label... but maybe I am wrong... 

You can use it in your icing... but I don't do any 100% shortening icing... I like real butter...

As for the taste of your icing... if you don't like the flavor, ADD MORE extract... it may help...

The amount of vanilla I put in my icing is appalling to so many... let alone when I am layering flavors... Tablespoons upon Tablespoons... 

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 24 Apr 2018 , 9:23pm
post #3 of 4

...........ust learned that crisco shouldnt be used for making frosting............