Should I Say Yes To Doing This Cake And How?

Decorating By louglou Updated 2 Mar 2018 , 6:46pm by louglou

louglou Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
louglou Posted 1 Mar 2018 , 10:29pm
post #1 of 6

I work in the grounds of this building. It’s all converted to offices but it’s a listed building and very grand.Should I Say Yes To Doing This Cake And How?

Its being renovated at the moment and I’ve been asked if I could make a cake to celebrate it being finished. I’m only a very amateur cake maker and the thought of doing it is a bit overwhelming. 

I need to decide whether to do it and how much to charge. And I need to work out how to do it and whether it is worth my sanity. I work part time but am a single parent so squeeze cake decorating in round my job and kids. I love a challenge but wonder if this might be a step too far. 

5 replies
SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 1 Mar 2018 , 11:18pm
post #2 of 6

I have already responded to this post somewhere.

WYBee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
WYBee Posted 2 Mar 2018 , 1:34am
post #3 of 6

I would go for it, but then I tend to have less caution than I should when agreeing to trying new things with cake.

If I were making it, I would make the walls in sections with modeling chocolate. Maybe gelatin for the windows. Ideally you could make the windows out of sugar, but that would be much more difficult.  I would make the roof out of rkt and cover with modeling chocolate or fondant. Don't forget to support it.

Then I would hope the above plan actually worked.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 2 Mar 2018 , 4:15pm
post #4 of 6