How Much Power Do You Give Your Wholesale Clients?

Business By VeganVita Updated 11 Feb 2018 , 10:51pm by -K8memphis

VeganVita Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
VeganVita Posted 11 Feb 2018 , 12:19am
post #1 of 4

Hi everyone!
I'm new to the forum. Anyway I am a vegan baker and my business is going into its 4th year now.
My wholesale clients are still sort of small, but I'm starting to take on more clients and I want to streamline things so that I'm not driving myself crazy or losing money.

So here's a brief rundown.
First I was doing consignment in a local restaurant and things were going GREAT. Then I took on a wholesale client and that was going GREAT, too!
THEN the wholesale client started messing up. They weren't paying me for orders then expecting more products after not paying me for weeks (hi, with no money I can't make more stuff..?) so they ended up dropping me.
I got another wholesale client which was amazing for me. Ten stores in the area doing cupcakes, cookies, and muffins.  They ended up cutting back on their bakery items and that meant cutting me. :( But I never had any production issues with them aside from the occasional messed up cookie.

The first restaurant decided to change to wholesale instead of consignment. They insisted it was going to be better for both of us. It has not been. Consignment was working great for me because I was using them as my "home base", basically. Promoting their restaurant to my customers as a location for my products. Every day or every other day I would stop in, check inventory, make sure the case was full of fresh products, and keep track of what was selling. We were doing between 10-20 dozen cupcakes a week with some other baked goods. Now we are down to one dozen cupcakes, a dozen slices of cake, two dozen brownies and a dozen baklava.
That's not really my complaint.