Culinary Institute Of America

Business By TSweetTreats Updated 12 Feb 2018 , 6:20pm by Baker Beach

TSweetTreats Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TSweetTreats Posted 7 Feb 2018 , 3:55pm
post #1 of 7

I'm a senior in high school and was recently accepted into The Culinary Institute of America - their baking and pastry program. I've been baking for 7 years and running a very successful home bakery for 3 years. I've never gotten tired of it and know that I definitely want a career in the food industry. Has anyone been to The Culinary Institute of America, more specifically their campus in Hyde Park, NY? What are your opinions?

I'm very fortunate that money is not an issue for me as I've gotten a large scholarship from them, so that will not be part of the problem.

Thanks!

Tatum 

6 replies
Evy911 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Evy911 Posted 7 Feb 2018 , 4:57pm
post #2 of 7

Congratulations. Never been there but wish you the best. Am looking forward to seeing your creations.

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 7 Feb 2018 , 5:50pm
post #3 of 7

I am not familiar either, but what an amazing opportunity!  Go for it!  We expect to see your amazing works!

810whitechoc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
810whitechoc Posted 8 Feb 2018 , 3:53am
post #4 of 7

Congratulations and double congrats for the large scholarship.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 8 Feb 2018 , 6:54pm
post #5 of 7

one of the best things is doing well of course which results in some great networking opportunities you'll have for a lifetime -- one of the most important things to understand is that a baking pastry program culinary degree does not enhance your ability to make money -- someone off the street who can do the same things can make the same money --